I have been blogging since 2007. When I say I’ve been blogging I don’t mean in the present tense. I mean in spurts here and there. You can read some of them at www.nathandm.blogspot.com. I even tried to restart a blog about a year ago to no avail. I couldn’t stay disciplined. I loved to write but I felt as though I didn’t have a direction. Until now.

What Changed?

As I began to think what drew me to blog sites it was basically one of two things: I knew of or personally knew the blogger and knew their heart, or the content interested me. It was themed blogs that initially drew me in. Then, during a conversation with a pastor, who was previously a publisher for a Christian Publishing house, we began discussing how I might start writing in some nature or another. He mentioned that my first “work” would probably be my “message.” Basically, he meant that what I wrote about first would be the message that means most to me; the theme that shapes my life and thought; the story that shapes my story. Many authors have written multiple books but the ones that make the biggest impact are the ones they feel.

In contemplating what that would mean for me it didn’t take long. I wanted to investigate how the best news on the planet that shaped my life could affect other’s lives. More importantly, I didn’t just want to walk up to someone and tell them about this news, although I could. Instead, I wanted to figure out what was going on their world, what their world-view was, what they enjoyed, etc. That would help me find a place where this news would intersect their real lives. I wanted to investigate where those intersection points might be and help others be aware of them in their own lives. I still do.

Gospel Intersections

When I refer to the best news on the planet that shaped and still shapes my life, I am referring to the gospel. The word gospel means “good news.” The gospel of Jesus Christ is the good news of Jesus Christ. Unfortunately, that gospel has been warped, debated, forgotten, lost, ignored, threatened, and left unguarded to the point that some don’t know what it is and how it has been proclaimed historically. This good news has been proclaimed for 2,000 years. This good news, this gospel, has changed more lives in that span that any other historical event. It is more debated than any topic. The good news, found in the Holy Bible, has sold more copies than any other literature by far.[i] Yet, there is such a misunderstanding of what it is and what it means for our lives. I believe it would be helpful to not just see what it is but also how it applies to our everyday life.

What to Expect

Here is what you can expect on this blog. We will be exploring how the greatest news ever told impacts every area of life and culture. I find studying our culture fascinating. I specifically love entertainment so you will find book, movie, television and music reviews. You might find cultural hot topics discussed. And I can assure you that you will find personal areas where I wrestle with the good news and what it means in my life. The gospel IS good news. My hope is that you will see that as we take these trips together down the road of life and see where the Gospel Intersects.

Take The Wheel: Have you ever considered how the good news of Jesus might affect specific areas of your life? How so? You can comment below.


[i] This can be found in multiple places for example; http://www.squidoo.com/mostreadbooks

